top of page
Post: Blog2_Post
Search
  • kaybri46

Fire and Gold

It is amazing how many things are created and/or destroyed by fire. Fire and heat can be used to create fear, destruction and death. Fire and heat is also a wonderful source used to create light, heat for food, warmth and the removal of impurities from substances.

Using the refining of gold as an example: Gold is purified through a process of high temperature or chemical exposure. Refining gold involves removing impurities and unwanted elements. People also go through this “refining process” as well. When life’s challenges expose our weaknesses, our struggles and our faults, it often feels like we are going through hell fire. At some point in our lives we are all unrefined gold. While the refining process is difficult and sometimes just plain unbearable, heat must be applied to force the impurities to the surface. Each day I learn something new and each day I am reminded that the fire that life’s challenges create can also produce a beautiful, shiny, glorious, precious treasure. Unfortunately, discovering our true value and purpose in life oftentimes comes after we’ve gone through the fire.


On this journey I have learned that your life can change in a blink of an eye. One day you are smiling and happy, enjoying all that life has to offer. Change doesn’t always occur when you are happy and smiling, sometimes we are praying to the Creator to help us navigate this journey because we are lost or unhappy. In either case when life throws you that unexpected curve-ball, BOOM; hell fire. I’ve asked myself countless times over the last year, why me? I hear a small voice saying back to me - why not you? I have found that perhaps I am built for this journey that I am on. Through this fire that I have been experiencing I have rediscovered myself, my strength, my weaknesses, my loves, my hates, my peace and my voice. Going through the fire has been hell and a Godsend all at the same time. When your life gets turned upside down you tend to gain a new perspective. Along this journey I’ve also learned that the changes that have occurred in my life are not all about me or for me, they have affected everyone around me. What I am experiencing is teaching my daughters and my son about adversity, challenges, courage and tenacity! They will look back over this period of time and think “My mom is a beast”! (A good beast of course 😊 ) I do not have all of life’s answers and I probably never will but I have gained strength that I didn’t know I possessed! Strength that I don’t know that I even want! I have gained a sense of self and purpose. I have learned to trust myself and the process of life. The Creator has not failed me. Through this process I have also regained faith in God, it has been NOTHING but God that has gotten me through. Trusting the Creator through the fire and storm can be scary but I am here to tell you that having faith and trusting God has been the best decision I’ve made in a long time.


I love listening to motivational speakers. I was listening to Les Brown one morning feeling sorry for myself and he said something so simple, yet so profound. He said; “It’s not about what happens to you in life, but what are you going to do about it!!”. I LOVE THIS! I repeat this to myself constantly. Daily affirmations have helped me in this season of uncomfortable change. No one wants to sit and listen to your ass whine and cry all day if you are not actively working to change your situation! I am so proud and happy for the woman that I am becoming. I will be to someone else, EXACTLY what I needed through this storm.


Another paradigm of the gloriousness of fire is the Phoenix. In Greek Mythology a phoenix is a long-lived bird that cyclically (occurring in cycles) regenerates or is otherwise born again. Associated with the Sun, a phoenix obtains new life by arising from the ashes of its predecessor. Just as the beautiful Phoenix, I will spend the rest of my days regenerating, revising, and adjusting my life accordingly to reach my highest potential. Each day I am grateful for the chance to start over; I am grateful for my mistakes, I own my mistakes, I learn from them and I try again. I will repeat this cycle until I feel satisfied with the life I have created. What a wonderful feeling it is to have the opportunity to regenerate, refine and REJOICE. Remember the ones who can endure the fire and heat, can come out as pure as 24 Karat gold.


Speaking of gold, I’d like to leave you with this: Kintsugi (which means gold repair) is the centuries-old Japanese art of fixing broken pottery with a special lacquer dusted with powdered gold, silver or platinum. Beautiful seams of gold glint in the cracks of ceramic ware, giving a unique appearance to the piece. This repair method celebrates each artifact’s unique history by emphasizing it’s fractures and breaks instead of HIDING OR DISGUISING them. Kintsugi often makes the repaired piece even more beautiful that the original, revitalizing it with new life. ROSEBUDS, BE A KINTSUGI! Remember your unique breaks and cracks can make you more beautiful than you were originally if you allow it! Fill your cracks with gold…

25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page